Jeff Urbach and Kathryn Olesko elected APS Fellows

Posted in News Story

Georgetown faculty members Jeff Urbach and Kathryn Olesko have been elected Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). APS Fellowship is awarded for exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise, and it is an honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers. Each year, the number of APS Fellows elected is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the Society membership.

Professor Urbach, an experimental physicist who studies the mechanics and dynamics of soft matter and biological systems, was nominated by the Topical Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics. His citation reads: For pioneering experiments that illuminated the nonequilibrium statistical mechanics of thin granular layers.

Professor Olesko, a member of the history department, is an expert in the history of science and technology, with a special interest in measuring practices, science pedagogy, science and engineering in Prussia, and comparative nuclear cultures. She was nominated by the Forum on the History of Physics. Her citation reads: For foundational contributions to the history of physics pedagogy and prolific editorial work in service of the history of science.

More info: