Alumna Rae Robertson-Anderson wins APS award

Jeff Urbach and Rae Robertson-Anderson at the 2023 APS March Meeting.

Rae Robertson-Anderson (C’03), Professor of Physics and Biophysics at the University of San Diego, was awarded the American Physical Society’s 2023 Prize for a Faculty Member for Research in an Undergraduate Institution. This prize honors a physicist whose research in an undergraduate setting has achieved wide recognition and contributed significantly to physics and who has contributed substantially to the professional development of undergraduate physics students. Prof. Robertson-Anderson was recognized for pioneering microrheology and microscopy experiments that elucidate the mechanics and dynamics of bio-inspired soft matter systems and complex biopolymer networks, and for advancing undergraduate physics research and curriculum.

The prize was awarded at the 2023 APS March Meeting, where Prof. Robertson-Anderson had a chance to meet up with her Georgetown undergraduate research mentor, Prof. Jeff Urbach.